Our Ditty: Chapter 1

While we’re far from perfection, I’ve learned a lot in a short amount of time. Plus, if I give you little unprofessional love lessons, I get to brag about mine. Win, win.

While I’ll never forget our first date, it’s only fair we start at the beginning. Our story begins before the story.

One boy, one girl, two hearts beating wildly. To put it mildly, it was love hate at first site.

Oh don’t worry, you heard me right.

Brandon wanted a Diesel Mechanic program, at a decent price, in a town he could get his Party on. And he did. He chose the small community college in my town. And I haaaaaaated him. Strong word. I severely disliked him. But, when his best friend decided to cling to my best friend, we were able to maturely make eye contact. I was interested in clean-cut, jackass cowboys, and he was dirty. And not interested in me (RIGHT?!).

Life took us in completely different directions. Him, back home (90 miles away), in a serious relationship. Me, pregnant, married, divorced. And somehow, five years later, we began again (only after our mutual friends INSISTED we stand in the same room together and like it.).

He tells me all the time that I profile people. Judge books by their cover. And am definitely the prodigy of law enforcement (love you daddy!). And while I’m right about those books 93% of the time, I was wrong about him. Life is ironic, and if we don’t give it a chance to prove us wrong, we aren’t living. Lack of fear is the absence of emotion. Being afraid to love, especially after being hurt again and again, is natural. Loving anyway, is allowing something greater to take over, and taking the chance that even though the madness might be temporary, right this second, it’s absolutely worth it.

“Love comes when manipulation stops; when you think more about the other person than about his or her reactions to you. When you dare to reveal yourself fully. When you dare to be vulnerable.”

In love, Madly,
Nomz

3 thoughts on “Our Ditty: Chapter 1

  1. Gawd I love LOVE stories! And yours and Brandon’s truly WAS and IS still!
    I know you had so many battles (personal, family(s), distance etc) to overcome, to get where you are today. I’m so proud of you for sticking it out and even prouder of YOU, for continuing to LOVE and GROW your relationship and family – while giving no mind to the negatives that surrounded you both.
    Finally, as an outsider, I see and realize that you two were meant for each other!
    Keep walking on forward and don’t look back!

  2. It is kinda funny how our storys are alike. Its proof people who come in our lives are there for a reason. Sometimes it just takes us a shove to figure out why. We couldnt be more blessed to have the three of you in our family..

  3. You know what the best part is about love stories like yours?
    The beautiful chapters just keep going, and everything that came before only serves to lay a strong foundation for everything that’s yet to come 🙂

    ❤ you & your happiness, and am ever-so-thrilled that I get to watch your gorgeous story unfold!

Leave a Reply

