Wordy Wednesday: #4!

Tidbits from my week!

*Why would I pack a “cold lunch” for my kindergartner when “hot lunch” at school today is a Hummus Wrap full of veggies from Colorado? How the eff can I compete with hummus you guys?

*I just started reading “Cold Tangerines” by Shauna Niequist, and I’m already excited to start living this book. Watch for quotes, watch for them. For example, the back of the book goes like this: “I want a life that sizzles and pops and makes me laugh out loud. And I don’t want to get to the end, or to tomorrow, even, and realize that my life is a collection of meetings and pop cans and errands and receipts and dirty dishes. This book is a shameless appeal for celebration.” I’m actually having a hard time not writing out the entire introduction for you. It’s already amazing. Actually, the latest quote I added to my blog: “”I need and choose the road of optimism and celebration and hope in the face of violence and despair and anxiety. And because the other road is a dead end.”, is from this book! (Wendy, if you’re reading this, THANK YOU for this book!)

*I want purple hair sooooo bad! Like an ashen blondish purple. Like this:

*I’m so proud of the way my five year old prays every night. She starts off by saying that she’s thankful for her family (like this: and thank you for mama, and brandon, and kyanne, and nova, and rolz, and daddy, and grandma, and the other grandma, and the other grandma after that, and grandpa, and the other grandpa, and my cousins…), and then goes on to tell Jesus about her whole day, or year. She rarely requests a single thing, except maybe the occasional “and help us have a good weekend tomorrow“. I think it’s prayers like this that started the kneeling next to the bed, because my feet KILL me by the time she’s done.

*People that are confident that they’re sneaky, aren’t so sneaky after all.

*Abusing your power is the quickest way to lose it.

*It makes me uncomfortable when Facebook comes up as a topic around the dinnertable. It makes me wonder what my kids will talk about when they’re our age. Can you guys imagine a world where Twitter is outdated?

*New plan: Don’t watch the news. It’s full of things that make me worry more, love the world less, ponder how to keep my kids safe, and create negativity. If it’s that important, I’ll hear about it on Facebook. Ha, HA.
Seriously though, I swear the media exists to control how the country feels. The world was better off in the centuries without technology. They weren’t old what they should be afraid of, where they should live, what schools the kids were to go to, etc. They just lived. Or maybe have died of dysentery on the Oregon Trail.

*Weekly favorite thought (I read it from God, others read it from their “little voice inside”, The Universe, etc., we can all use it though):

It’s not that you worry, Naomi, but that you care. A lot.

And knowing this difference can make such a difference, because then you can also remember that caring is my specialty, that every life unfolds in the palm of my hand, and that not one second of eternity is ever revealed that I haven’t carefully prepared.

Silly.

*It bugs me when I go out of my way to email somebody something, and they don’t respond. I wasn’t talking to air, if I was, I’d have talked to the air.

*It also bugs me that when the substitute me sits at my desk while I’m gone, and doodles on all my paper. my paper.

*It worries me that so many people are afraid to live honestly. That they feel like they have to put on a facade to keep the peace. That their feelings are something to fear or be ashamed of.

*For the first time, maybe in my whole life, I am grateful for having a gaggle of women in my life that I’m excited to call “friends”. They make me laugh every single day.

*My favorite pictures of the week:

(awwww, I can’t show you! Because I haven’t revealed them yet, dangit! But our friends got engaged, and I got to capture it – OMGYAY)

*Are any of you guys on Pinterest yet? It’s my favorite new place to kill time on the internet! Follow me, I’ll follow you back! http://pinterest.com/thenomz/

*Song of the Week (obviously, I blogged about it already):

*I can’t wait to make this octopus a snack: http://bravegirlsclub.com/archives/
What was your favorite after school snack? My mom used to put frosting on graham crackers and OHMYYUM

My favoriteFAVORITE sent me my new favoriteFAVORITE picture:

Bouncing,
Nomz

3 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday: #4!

  1. I want you to have that hair. If you never take a chance, on something YOU want, you may regret it someday. Call and make your appointment RIGHT NOW!

    Everything else in here…deep thoughts, wonderful words! Go ‘sizzle and pop’ your life, before it’s too late! Muah!

  2. Holy Toledo I blogged about honesty today, too! It is a dying attribute! So sad…
    I needed this today, “not one second of eternity is ever revealed that I haven’t carefully prepared.”
    I am finding said book and reading it because I’m in love aleady!

  3. To a ray of sunshine in my life… I thank you for being you.. I love your words, the way they make me relize I am a better person because I have you in my life.

Leave a Reply

