When did showers get so HARD?

You know how storms appear in Colorado? The way it goes from 90 degrees and sunny, to 60 degrees and pissed off? That’s bath time in our house. Well, shower time, because I’m OCD and having my kids bathe in their own soot freaks me out.

In our house, bath time happens only three times/week. I get that kids are filthy, but they also have dry skin and dry little hair and don’t need to be bathed every day. So three days a week, immediately following dinner (that happy medium, where it has to happen early enough to let their hair dry, but late enough that they can’t get re-dirty) to shower time. My house begins clean and uncluttered, and ends a soppy wet mess, clothes littering the hallway, bathroom, bedroom. Pajamas (I have girls, so at least four sets are laid out to pick from and fight over) are laid out, dresser drawers are left open. If you weren’t a mom and happened across our home around 7:30 pm on a Tuesday, you’d think we let the apes come in and throw a house party.

While I’m letting them establish some independence, if I don’t supervise shampooing, they forget to do the front, they use body wash on their heads and shampoo on their pink loofas, and more ends up on the dog than them. By the end of a shower, I’m more wet than the girls, and my bathroom is drenched.

It’s not that their wild or ill behaved, it’s that showers are fun, and they’re toddlers with giant supply of bubbles + water.

Lately, I’ve been wondering if I bathe them enough though. I’m not worried that it’s so infrequent that child services is going to knock on my door, but I do wonder if I’m slightly neglectful. Some nights, the thought of adding in a showertime storm to my already long day seems more of a chaotic and crazy idea than climbing one of Colorado’s 14ers.

I’m curious, moms of toddlers…how often does this planned chaos happen at your house?

Yours Truly,
Nomz

4 thoughts on “When did showers get so HARD?

  1. – I give my girls a bath every other night, if not every night. Here is why –

    AVOID DRY SKIN – moisturize, moisturize, moisturize! This is the single most important step in minimizing your child’s dry skin. Do not underestimate this! This needs to be part of your daily routine with your child.

    •Luke warm baths – hot water can dry the skin. Let your child play and soak in the bath. Do not let him soak in soapy water. It used to be felt that frequent bathing made dry sking worse. Now we know that lukewarm baths allow water to soak into the skin.
    •Towel off gently by patting the skin. Do not rub dry.
    •Do not use plain soap – soap dries the skin, even liquid baby soap.
    •Use a moisturizing soap with no perfume – unscented Dove works very well. Cetaphil is a cleanser that is also soap-free and good for eczema.
    •Daily moisturizing lotion – this is very important. 2 to 4 times a day apply a moisturizing lotion or cream to the whole body, especially the affected areas. Some good brands include Aquaphor, Eucerin, or Keri lotion. One good time to apply this is right after the bath – it locks in the moisture.

  2. My kids are ANIMALS!!!! That translates into FILTHY!!! They get baths every other day except Gracie who is probably 6 days a week due to the fact that she makes the boys look sparkling at their dirtiest. She attracts dirt like a magnet. And dog hair, glue, glitter, boogers, grass, leaves, food, markers(they have a mind of their own and just attack her at random moments! ) and anything else that she touches. We lotion her afterwards so she can ” smell like you mommy”. We wash her hair with kid shampoo and then coat it in “sparklies” aka conditioner, and leave it sit while we wash the rest of the grime off of her. I never rinse all of the conditioner out either, because princess’ have sparklie hair!! My bathroom floor stays really clean after mopping up after her, due to the need to bathe her frequently. Its a perk! 🙂

  3. When they are at my house I fill the tub REALLY full (because they like it that way), give them each a bar of their own homemade goats milk soap, and a scrubby brush, and they soap up, scrub up, and play in there for as long as they can stand it. They also each get to pick their own shampoo & conditioner from our collection of hotel samples. I just sit and watch, and listen, and laugh & smile, while they get all clean and soft from that wonderful mild soap. It’s always a highlight for all of us. I love bath time!

Leave a Reply

