Wordy Wednesday: #6!

I am having THE hardest time remembering what movie the line, “this one time, at band camp…(followed by an epic, usually embarrassing story)” came from. I’ve never actually been to band camp, but I’ve been to summer camp. Bonus points to anybody that leaves a comment with the movie title that came from, AND an embarrassing story to go with it.

-I miss summer camp. I can’t wait until my kids are old enough to go. Though, they’re not going to the same one I did. It’s where my parents met, had me, and I met my first real boyfriend. Nu uh, my girls aren’t going near the place. Where did you guys go?

-It’s raining and fall-like, and gorgeous outside. I wish it’d stay like today all winter.

-I would give just about anything to be in Chicago this weekend.

-I’m in the process of reading all of John Sandford’s books. I think there’s like…21 of them? Or 23 maybe? Anyway, I’m reading ‘Mind Prey’ right now, and it’s the first one that has legitimately scared the crap out of me, and is the only thing I’ll never read before bed. It’s book sixish, I think. *shudders* It’s actually looking at me from my desk right now, pissed off that I’m talking to you guys instead of lusting over its pages.

-There is a girl in our office that knows five languages, least of all English, and makes killer homemade ice cream.

-♫ Save your strength for things that you can change, Forgive the ones you can’t. You gotta let ’em go ♫

-My sister is the best nanny in the lahahahannnnnnnnnd. The way she juggles four kids under the age of six (not all mine, sheeeeesh) is impressive. Someday, she’s going to have twin boys (She knows, we’ve discussed it) and be all like “Psh, this ain’t NOTHIN”.

You guys wanna know a secret? Grandma might have gotten my girls a little something named Tinkerbell. I’ll share my homemade oriental ice cream with anybody that can guess what it isssssssssssss.

-I learned about dairy farms last weekend from my five and six year old, everything from baby cows sleeping alone and being kept company by matching kitties, to cows “having boobies that hang out all the time but it’s ok because our milk is made out of them.

-If uncomfortable shoes do not make my feet look cute, regardless of how they complete an outfit, we’re no longer friends.

-This autistic man restored by love for baseball fans and America, really. Especially the part where he starts to giggle:

-Have I mentioned I’m addicted to Pinterest yet? /thenomz, in case you are too.

-I can’t get this hair out of my head. Which probably means it’s going to end up ON my head. Soon. Well, as soon as I get the courage to ask my boss.

Lusting of purple and summer camp,
Nomz

6 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday: #6!

  1. The movie was American Pie. I know this well because I have many “this one time at band camp” stories of my own. Well maybe not one’s that had to do with my flute and using it for unmentionable things but stories of friendships and memories that will last a lifetime. I may have been a ‘band geek’ but it was one of the best times of my life. Friday nights marching out on the field playing the ‘war’ song on the end zone for the football players to get them all pumped up for the big game was classic. Also, the look on the cheerleaders face when the band actually dictated the cheers the fans did and NOT them! HAHA Take that popular girls!

    Life is about making memories, good and bad. My kids may not want to join the band so they can have their own epic “this one time at band camp’ stories but I hope I can help them achieve their own wonderful memories throughout their lives and I hope I give them a good enough moral background to take it from there once they leave the nest.

    • I was in band too! I never made it to band camp, but I know the thrill you’re talking about when you’re at the end of the field getting the crowd to scream.

      I love how you put this: “Life is about making memories, good and bad. My kids may not want to join the band so they can have their own epic “this one time at band camp’ stories but I hope I can help them achieve their own wonderful memories throughout their lives and I hope I give them a good enough moral background to take it from there once they leave the nest.”

      …so true!

  2. HOLY OMG! I am soooooooo stoked to discover you are reading the Prey novels! In my brain, Lucas Davenport is the hottest, sexiest, most mysterious bad ass detective out there. If he was real, I’d totally marry him. I mean, if I wasn’t already married. At the end of the Prey novels comes a new series but they are totally interconnected and I can’t wait for you to catch up so I can discuss them with you!

  3. Is Tinkerbell a kitten? Do the hair. You don’t need to ask permission. As long as the hair dresser does it correctly, it will look so natural! Can’t wait to see the pic!

  4. Is tinker bell a dog?
    or a hamster?

    The city of Longmont has one of the most wonderful summer camps..
    I was in the band and flag and drill. Like you it was wonderful memories..

Leave a Reply

