My “Photography”…

I’m a photographer. I have an eye for the things that a lot of people miss by using both of theirs. I capture emotion. My camera isn’t anything too special, I don’t have photoshop, and I have no education under my belt except that in which my friends have given me (thank you, mostly, to my mom, Sara, and Sarah). I am, however, getting booked almost every weekend, which makes me think that my hobby could be much, much more.

Here’s the thing though, it’s not that I don’t have the time or interest in a business, I just don’t want to be like the next person out there that’s out running around calling themselves a photographer just because they’re good at taking pictures, and have the ability to turn a picture sepia. I want to be a photographer because I have something to offer that is unlike everything else you see. I want my work to be filled with passion, and emotion. I want people to see the world through my lens, and feel something different for it; something graceful and gorgeous that they would have missed otherwise. I want to find a way to combine my love for pictures, and my adoration of words.

I know it’s a competitive world to be in. I know that I’m lacking the knowledge to accomplish it if I were to start today. BUT if I start working towards it today, by this time next year…*ponder, ponder*

So, commenters out there, I have homework for you.

How do you get started?
What business steps did you take?
What education do you think is necessary?
If you know me, do you think I’ve got what it takes?
What is something you seek in a photographer, that you have a hard time finding; a rarity?

Next, make sure you stop by Facebook today and “like” my four favorites (again, you’ll have to copy and paste the links in your browser, WordPress wants me to make my own website, apparently):

http://www.facebook.com/BlushingCrowStudio
http://www.facebook.com/ardentphotographyinc
http://www.facebook.com/PhotographybySalvatore
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Thruessence-Photography/179086338796160

Two of my prouder moments that I took this week:

^ That hand one is my favorite, favorite. It’s nothing extraordinary, it’s my favorite because when I searched for ideas for a single mom pictures, all I got were these awkward poses. This picture is of a single mom friend of mine, her youngest being the “peace” sign that closes up the heart. It’s the heart in the picture, not the heart, but the HEART in it

Pondering,
Nomz

PS – I know that I’ve been talking about this for so long that half of you are going to be like OhMahGah, get off your ass and do it already!”, but you know, I have to talk about it a little more first.

7 thoughts on “My “Photography”…

  1. Mentor mentor mentor. Find a worthy mentor! I was a photojournalism major and am SO glad you spoke up and called out all these ppl that think that just bc they have a digital camera, they are a photographer!
    There are elements to photography you would never dream of knowing unless you’re educated in it.
    I believe the best education- as with most everything- comes from learning from a seasoned professional.
    🙂

  2. Not much advice but I do have a few things to offer for your portfolio. A chubby body. I’m serious. A lot of your subjects won’t be picture perfect and you need to make a girl like me still feel pretty and trust me when I say if you forget to pose us in a way that hides our back fat, we don’t feel pretty. I also have an awkward teenage boy. He’s handsome but he is in that stage where he looks like the love child of a gorilla and a giraffe. And of course twins. And a large (21 person) family. All great things to have under your belt 😉

  3. All I can say is what ever you do you will be successful and wonderful. We will always be here to help out any way we can. Between your words and pictures I see a book of some sorts in your future. 🙂 (((((( hugs)))))).

Leave a Reply

