Wordy Wednesday: #13! It’s about entertainment, I suppose.

You should probably bounce through my blog today:

Who decided 13 was going to be a number that would stand out? Either as lucky as unlucky? It holds no significance with me, nor any number, for that matter. Somebody explain.

Is there a way to permanently unsubscribe from all weather updates on Facebook? I intentionally avoid watching the newsfeed on days like today, and also Sundays. Because sports updates and weather updates aren’t necessarily irrelevant, but unoriginal. If we cared, we’d have something other than Facebook on, ya know?

I am literally thrilledexcited like OMG over all of the photography opportunities lately! My November is like BLAMfull, and I already have one scheduled in December. Whether I was ready to make this leap or not, I have no choice!

I just did a random “open the nearest book next to you, turn to page 359, read the most interesting thing on that page and share it” thing. And it was interesting enough that I thought I’d share it.

“Women’ll put anything in a toilet to try and make it go away. We once had a woman whose dog died, and she tried to flush it down the toilet.

“Small Dog?” Franklin asked.

“Well, yeah.” The manager’s eyes seemed to cross. “I mean, nobody’d try to flush a German Shepherd.””

 

I wish I had more time to read.

It is the year of the hats. I want to wear a cute hat with every out fit, every day, all day long this winter. Starting today. Because brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. And also because it’s all matchy matchy.

I’ve had a few friends leave Facebook recently because they hate the drama, the meanness, the rumors, the gossip, etc. that happens there. It makes me sad that our world is so cruel that we can’t even keep a social network positive. It also really makes me miss “seeing” them every day. Mean people piss me off.

What about food blogs do you read? Do you read for the facts? The recipes? The pretty words people find a way to use with the recipes? Do you read them at all?

The History channel has me hooked on “Top Shot”, and also has me severely missing shooting guns. My dad would love this show: fact.

DirectTV is getting rid of FX as of November 1st, cutting me off cold turkey from my Sons of Anarchy addiction. I’m trying to figure out the best reaction: claw my skin off and pull my hair out like I would in drug rehab, leave nastygram messages on DirectTV’s voicemail, or switch to another provider. Thoughts?

Confidence is the new black. By which I mean, regardless of your makeup, your attire, or your current going-ons, if you’re displaying confidence, you’re gorgeous.

Yours Truly,
Nomz

3 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday: #13! It’s about entertainment, I suppose.

  1. Like AMEN x 1000 on the unsubscribing to the FB weather updates….. AHHHHH! Even better, I have an unnamed family member on FB who not only has to talk about the weather every.single.day, but also has to announce whenever it’s Friday and also whenever it’s Monday. *facepalm*

  2. OK… so this is what I could find about “triskaidekaphobia”.
    No one knowns the exact reason, though some people have a filmsy that it being the fifth prime number it was unlucky.
    Many buildings in Europe and USA have no 13th floors, hotels have no rooms numbered 13, many people refuse to take car numbers that contains number 13, and people often refuse to start a journey or a new business on the 13th day of the month.
    Fear of the number 13 is termed triskaidekaphobia (from Greek tris=three, kai=and, deka=ten).
    In Norse mythology, the beloved hero Balder was killed at a banquet by the malevolent god Loki, who crashed the party of twelve, bringing the group to 13. This story, as well as the story of the Last Supper, led to one of the most entrenched connotations of the number 13. Christian tradition holds that 13 is unholy because it signifies the gathering of 12 witches and the devil.
    Several mass murderers have 13 letters in their names (Eg : Harold Shipman, Charles Manson, Jeffrey Dahmer).
    In a deck of Tarot cards, the number 13 card is called Death
    Apollo was planned to be launched on the 13th day of the month, at the 13th hour of the day, and at the 13th minute of the hour. After the crew of the Apollo 13 broadcasted there mission, everything went wrong, and it was April 13. That’s why a lot of people thought the Apollo 13 was a jinxed mission.

    You can start a campaign about Directv no longer carrying FX. I am on a personal campaign against them at the moment as the current package offerings has more channels+HD DVR for less money than I’m currently subscribing to. So, in my mind, wouldn’t it make sense for these people to automatically notify me that there’s better deals at a savings and thrill me as their customer??? It just seems like good business rather than making the customer feel like they’re being screwed over

  3. I LOVE your ‘winter white’ matching hat/sweater picture! So glowy and stunning!

    And I’m not afraid of the number 13…not meaning, no fear…I don’t play into that crap.

    I recently had a ‘friend’ be a jerk to me and someone else, on a Social Network, that I decided to block them from my life. Plus, I went straight to the source, and found out they were lying and had blown the entire story out of proportion. I don’t need their drama in my life now or ever. People that post it ALL the time are just ‘control freaks’ or ‘attention getters’. They need to ‘get a life’!

    And just a reminder….’Karma is a bitch and will come back to haunt the mean girls’. Seriously.

    Stay warm Miss White!

Leave a Reply

