Wordy Wednesday: #14. It’s Tuesday, I know. But I have lots of words that need out NOW.

It’s not a great photography without a great moment. The moment happened, and my shutter was just in the right place at the right time. Please keep creating inspiration, people.

I got absolutely horrified and outraged at this story today: Safeway has pregnant mother arrested, and her child taken away by the state, over a sandwich that she forgot to pay for. And rather than dealing with it quickly and appropriately, Safeway is deleting all of the feedback off their Facebook wall, and waiting for the legal battle to sort it all out. Please feel free to let them know how you feel. And also to shop at King Soopers, which is way better anyway. RAWR.

I am PLEASED to announce DirectTV and FX made a deal, therefore NOT losing me as a customer, and indefinitely forcing me to get a DVR to continue my Sons of Anarchy addiction. Woot!

My Note From The Universe today:

It’s true, Naomi, sometimes when you’ve had a difficult day, or met difficult people, been let down, disappointed, or heartbroken, it’s easy to completely forget the most important thing of all… you’re alive.

Without even trying.

 

I did a GORGEOUS photo shoot in Estes Park this weekend, more gorgeous from the scenery and explosive love on the camera, than by my talent. Check this out!

We got literally over 8 pounds of candy yesterday. I think we’re going to give it to a Buy Back Program, they’re shipping the candy overseas to troops that missed out on all of our fun! It’s amazing how much we take for granted over here, isn’t it?

Don’t forget to set your clocks BACK an hour on Saturday night!

It’s November, my favorite month! My birthday is all “I’m almost here and you liiiiiiiiiiiike it!”! My sister’s birthday is this month too. And we live in Colorado where the leaves are still around and gorgeous. It’s going to be a good month.

I loathe pissing contests. I mean that figuratively. I’ve never seen a real one in real life.

My friend is running the Arts Alliance of Cheyenne Facebook page! If you live in or around Cheyenne, Wyoming, you should check out that page, “like” it, and get the latest on all the artistic things going on. Better YET, this month, she’s running a photo contest, and the winner gets a free subscription to the Wyoming Lifestyle Magazine! Get thee to there!

Did you know “There are over 285,000,000 people living in the United States. Of that population, less than 1% claim farming as an occupation (and about 2% actually live on farms). There are only about 960,000 persons claiming farming as their principal occupation and a similar number of farmers claiming some other principal occupation. The number of farms in the U.S. stands at about two million.” GOSH that’s not a lot of farmers feeding a lot of people. Statistics and more interesting reads here: Ag Demographics in the US!

Yours Truly,
Nomz!

6 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday: #14. It’s Tuesday, I know. But I have lots of words that need out NOW.

  1. OK… So this whole flap about arrests of a couple over $10 may not seem like much AND a huge deal is being made over their child taken into protective services. 1-if you were a business owner -regardless of the size of your business – would you allow people to walk off with whatever they wanted? 2 – And while the couple were being processed, what do you expect the police to do with the couples child?

    Yes, it’s an unfortunate situation, but I would prefer that a child be taken care of rather than hanging out in a police station for 18 hours while the parents straighten things out. These are things no one thinks about when planning vacations…

    And while Safeway may be deleting messages on their FB page, it is an ongoing legal matter that they really can’t comment on.

    • I absolutely agree, that IF an arrest has to be made, than they should take care of the child first. Absolutely. But over $10? Every place I’ve ever worked at, they’d slap them on the wrist, make them pay for it, and send them on their way.

      I don’t expect them to comment on the actual matter, now that it’s been handled the way it has, but deleting the comments is actually WORSE publicity from a social marketing standpoint, let people say what they need to say and it’ll die out on it’s own. If you delete them, you’re just fueling the fire.

      Plus, you know, Safeway doesn’t have self checkout. 😉
      Thanks for the debate, woman!

  2. I think we’d all be amazed how many people are arrested each day for petty thefts… But they don’t hit the media over it. And Safeway’s handling of the matter would be scrutinized whichever way they handle this. It is a PR nightmare…

    Our Safeway also has self-checkout, but I didn’t see any self- checkout stands anywhere on Oahu, not even Wal Mart.

    BTW – this couple is local and they have been hitting the media blitz hard

  3. YOU have a Birthday coming up??? I thought we took your birthday away from you this year…I’m pretty sure of it. 😉

Leave a Reply

