Since I’m getting too old to be a punk princess…

I guess I’ll raise my girls to be just that. At least until they’re old enough to say otherwise. My most photo-inspiring days with my kids are the ones where they wake up, throw on leggings, a skirt, and a shirt, none of which match, and beg to put purple in their hair. See above picture.

And so that, is my inspiration. My girls will always be my inspiration.
Today, it’s the inspiration for change.

I changed the theme of this blog today. I put one of them on my header so I’ll always remember that I can be as honest as they are, without a second thought.
I revised the “About Me” section of my blog to include a bit of a disclaimer.

I recently read a blog, Mommy Said a Swear Word, and it’s quickly climbed to a blog I follow, look for often, and aspire to. To quote her:

I just want to write, damn it.

I will never pretend to be someone or something that I am not. I will not apply filters to myself in this space of the web that I now can call my own. I’m going to write as the mom to one girl, the wife to one man, and as the sarcastic, swearing, bitchy, funny, soft-hearted, hypocritical woman I am. I wear filters around every day in the real world and they are just too heavy to carry online, too.

I’ve left so much emotion of this blog because I’ve been burned and gossiped about, I’ve been confronted and forced to defend my feelings, and I’m done.

I’ve done some things I’m not proud of. I’ve got a past that I’ve learned from, and I can’t wait to tell you about it.

Everybody says that I am the most life celebrating person they know, that I have an old soul, that I have a way with words. I think it’s time to flex those muscles. And I’m nervous as all hell about it.

Prepare for ch-ch-channnnnnnnges ♫

Nomz

6 thoughts on “Since I’m getting too old to be a punk princess…

  1. Flex those muscles! SAY it like you FEEL it girl! It helps getting the crappy situations and feelings off YOUR back and onto a page…like a breath of fresh air.

    You are a mother of two beautiful girls, a grown woman, a friend, a love to your man and an inspiration to (most) everyone. If they can’t take your words, your thoughts, your feelings… and learn from them, they need to quit reading your blog.

    Bring it! I’m ready!

  2. So what that you’re being gossiped about? That just means that they are jealous of you. Revel in the fact that you consume space in their heads enough to be talked about. 😉 Love you!

  3. self-filtering for oneself is one thing… but like you, I am done filtering for the sake of fitting into what people think I “should” be. I fell into that trap – yes, I now realize it was a trap I needed to free myself of – to become part of the flow of life around here. I figured out that all it did was bring me down to the level of others rather than giving myself a life of enrichment – soul and intellect alike. People don’t necessarily care that I choose to be an individual rather than one of their herd, but that’s their issue to resolve. I would rather be an individual who stands apart from the crowd than someone who’s blended into the wallpaper!

    And as for age restrictions on punk princesses, I don’t think there is one… look at Betsey Johnson!!!

  4. Thank you 🙂 This made me really, really happy. Is this like a bra burning, but for blogs? A filter flinging? Really, thank you for this. 🙂

  5. As always I can’t wait to read your “unfiltered words” I can’t believe they would be anything less then inspiring or eye opening. Which we all need from time to time.

Leave a Reply

