Nightmares on Colorado Boulevard

*insert six-year-old wailing at 3:34am*
“Moooooooooooooooooooooom, THERE ARE SNAKES ON OUR PORCH AND I’M SCARED!!!!!!!!!!!”

I leapt out of bed, kicked the dog, knocked over my water glass, checked to make sure I didn’t ruin my bedside iPhone, fell on my laundry (organizing laundry – a blog to come), slid on the wood floors and fell into the arms of my crying six year old girl.

“Baby, there are no snakes on our porch, it’s just a bad dream! Go back to sleep, and try to stomp on them, use your stuffed elephant (*hands her one of the 3409 stuffed animals on her bed*), and you can take her to your dream to help!”

“I don’t waaaaaaaaaant to go back to sleep. I just want it to be morning!” *insert cutest pout ever*

In our house, nightmares are fairly uncommon. The girls sleep soundly. And we’ve always had the rule that they have to stay in bed and we’ll come to them, rather than them coming into our room (not only for our own privacy, but plz see above path of destruction).

It made me think back to my childhood, when I’d go find my parents, they’d kiss me on the forehead, tell me to get a drink, and go back to my room and pray about it. It always worked, I mean prayer + water = magic. And I developed this habit to go back to sleep trying to dream the same dream and logically work out my own happy ending, thus, my elephant stomping idea.

Apparently it worked for her, because she didn’t wake again.
What do you, as parents, do for your kiddo when the nightmares come? Do you try to tell them to think happy thoughts? Do you have a magic spell to help them feel comforted and safe? Do stuffed animals or water bottles full of monster spray help them feel like their room is the safest place in the house? Do they get to get up and snuggle with you?

My five year old swear dreams come from the walls, so we covered them all up in pink decorations and pictures. I mean if you’re going to dream, dream in pink right?

Tell me your stories!

8 thoughts on “Nightmares on Colorado Boulevard

  1. Russell has to have his closet door shut because of the simple movie (which he loves) Monsters Inc. I usually have to sit/lay with him to fall asleep and then sneak out…most nights he stays asleep, but there are times where he creeps into our room and we find him hogging our queen sized bed in the morning (elbow to the face, kicked in the gut etc.). How did you get your girls to stay in their beds when they would wake up???? I could use help there!!!!!

    Side note, I was sick with the flu the other night and couldn’t lay with Russell to put him to sleep–he (in his bed in his room) yells out (our room is adjoining) “mama you said you would come lay with me” etc. etc. Finally completely fed up I yell back “Russell do you want me to puke on you? ” “No mama, you supposed to puke on the toilet, not me” πŸ™‚ “well, mama is sick so she can’t lay with you she may puke on you instead”……..long pause from boys room “Oh fine then” he says πŸ™‚

    Would love YOUR suggestions on how to get them asleep and stay in their bed! πŸ™‚

    • Sorry I’m JUST now getting to this, doll! I shouldn’t blog if I don’t have time to respond, right?

      Your last paragraph made me laugh SO hard when you posted it! I get emails to my phone from my blog, so I read it on my way to an errand and it about killed me. I hope you’re feeling better!!

      For the girls, coming into my bedroom has never been an option, so I think mostly, they don’t know what they’re missing out on! πŸ™‚ When Kyanne was 18 months old, I had to shut the door of her bedroom because she’d sneak out and come into my bed. She wasn’t able to open the door on her own so technically she was “locked in”, but I only did it during nap time, when I was awake and could hear everything that was going on. It freaked me out to think something could happen and I’d sleep through it. All it took for her was to realize that it wasn’t ok, and she never tried it at night!

      Honestly though? As much as I love that we’ve established that boundary for privacy and safety, I don’t ever see the harm in letting kiddos co-sleep occasionally. Extra loving and cuddles, especially at that age, can never be a bad thing. And how much longer will it happen, you know? Eventually, they’ll get to the age that’s embarrassing to HUG mama, much less crawl into bed with her. That “problem” goes away all on its own πŸ™‚

      You’re a stellar mama, this I know! Love you sis!

  2. Your mom always told me if you sing “jesus loves you” (this I know) That he would chase away the scary stuff. Always worked. πŸ™‚ But my kids don’t wake up in the night for bad dreams. Jake used to sleep walk, which was scary for me, but thats it.

  3. My five year old swear dreams come from the walls, so we covered them all up in pink decorations and pictures. I mean if you’re going to dream, dream in pink right? –I’ll bear this in mind the next time I dream. πŸ™‚

  4. Drink of water and prayers followed by Jesus loves me. You will sometimes hear all three of the big kids upstairs singing it before they manange to fall asleep. When they do it before sleep they never wake up with bad dreams! Mom used to tell me to picture myself on Jesus’ lap while singing it and nothing is more effective! πŸ™‚

  5. Aw πŸ™‚ I am glad you stumbled on me today, because your stuff is great! I loved the beginning of this post, you painted it perfect…. down to the laundry. When my daughters have nightmares I have a tendency to let them crawl in bed with me, or I tell them to pray about it. I am really bad at being able to wake enough to say anything intelligent to anyone in the middle of the night. I do remember what my mother did though, when I had nightmares… she was fantastic. She would follow me back to my room, tuck me in… pet my hair and tell me to close my eyes and picture a field of golden hay, blowing sweetly in the breeze… and she would paint with words the perfect country day, with cotton candy clouds, the smell of apple pie, the sound of horses and the river… and I would fall back asleep to her soothing tone somewhere in the middle of that. When I have nightmares still to this day… I can see that place she would take me as she’d speak. πŸ™‚ Man, my mom is a way better mom than I am. LOL.

Leave a Reply

