71 degrees of sunshine and randomized spewage.

It’s been literally months since a blog. I work at an accounting firm when I’m not out flaunting my social skills, and January thru April 17th and no longer, I disappear. Tax season slurps me up like a fat kid at 7-11 holding the latest flavor of slushy, or the Blue Raspberry, which is obviously the best. This post is not a warning even, that I’m leaping back into blogging because it’s only March and I’ve barely come up for air.

This brilliant breath of air, surrounded by sunshine (all 71 degrees of it, mind you) flowing through the chaos of the office, sleepy kitty supervising, slight breeze begging me to come up with a wild excuse to leave early for the day…is the perfect time for random spew.

*fist-pound*

Let it flow; Let it go.

~I’m oddly captivated by this whole March Madness…thing. I don’t have a CLUE what happens in the 64 (right?) games of it, but I had to join a pool for work, and while I’ve definitely became the entertainment of the office with my picks, it has my curiosity peaked and secretly checking the scores. Maybe sports aren’t as overrated as I’ve been accusing them to be. If nothing else, I love the excitement they bring. Between March Madness, the Superbowl, the Daytona 500, the Quidditch matches, and every huge rivalry in every sport that happens around the world, I love that it gives a reality break, something to !!!!!!!!!! about, something that doesn’t require CNN, a President, or a bad thing to happen for the attention of the public to turn it’s head. It’s a thing of tradition, despite the madness and chaos of the world.

~Admittedly, I’ve been part of the “if you can’t beat them, join them.” team of pessimists lately. I’m normally one of the most optimistic people in all of the lands, but lately, I’ve had no problem finding reasons to whine. I think it’s my allergic reaction to the time change, combined with sheer exhaustion and working mom guilt. It’s not a very fun place to be in, and I’m frolicking myself right out of it. Optimism might not be reality, but you’re a fool if you think pessimism is either. Realists, put mind over matter, and choose how their worlds will turn round, and in what shade.

~I was SUCH a critic of my daughter having homework in kindergarten this year. And while I still think it’s a bit much for such a young mind, it thrills me to be able to snuggle in at night and let her read an entire chapter book to me and her younger sister. AT AGE SIX. I’m applauding public schools, and am blushing with pride over my brilliant girl.

~I read somewhere this week that we’re born loving the world, and the older we get, the more we fear it. It was a shocking reality for me, and I plan on reversing my current frame of mind before I run out of time. I’m nearly 27 and a half, and I can’t wait to make the next decade the most risking, most loving, most thrilling ride of my life. I’ve learned things the hard way for the last ten years out of fear. That’s quite enough, I think. This quarterlife-crisis has nearly ended, on to the next!

~I have an astounding feeling of regret that I don’t own more board games. Suggestions would be lovely!

The phones are ringing, the cat has awoken from his slumber, and it’s nearly time to update the basketball pool. I am barely short of two hours from aviators + windows down, and I’m checking out with the hopes that you guys missed me as much as I missed you!

Love,
Nomz

4 thoughts on “71 degrees of sunshine and randomized spewage.

  1. Welcome back, sweetcheeks! Oh, how I’ve missed your random-blings. (It’s like ramblings, but WITH MORE FUN.)
    Let’s start planning some sort of post-tax-season frolic-fest, shall we? Sunshine, good food, drinks, hours on a patio somewhere where they keep refilling said drinks….?!

    LOVEYOUMISSYOU.

  2. Jason and I can play a pretty mean ,and I literally mean MEAN, game of battleship! We all love yahtzee and I love scrabble. The kids are of course candyland and chutes and ladders. We have a closet full of every kind imaginable so I’m missing a lot but I love them all! I’ve missed your words and cant wait for tax season to be over!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

